General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Race Day Adrenalin and Heart Rate... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-08-25 12:09 PM

Subject: Race Day Adrenalin and Heart Rate...
I've been training for the past 6 months with a HR monitor for my "A" race - my first Oly this weekend. I haven't worn my HR during the two practice sprint triathlons I've done thus far - as I just tried to go all out in these events. The Oly is entirely different - and on the run especially, I want to be able to guage my efforts and pace myself or else I am afraid I'll run out of gas early.

My questions are - what added effect to HR can I expect from the adrenalin of race day? Will it be elevated throughout or will HR fall back into normal ranges? And do you just go with the flow? Or do you curb your efforts so that your HR gets back into the proper range and then go from there? I want to leave it all out on the race course this weekend...I just don't want to run out of it all by mile 2 of the run... 

As always, thanks for the advice!

2010-08-25 5:21 PM
in reply to: #3063318

User image

Extreme Veteran
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Subject: RE: Race Day Adrenalin and Heart Rate...
My HR is about 70-75 prior to the start, resting is high 40's, and is normal on the bike in race mode compared to training mode. I'm sure it's a bit high at the swim start, then settles, but who knows? Actually, I wouldn't be surprised if it is a bit elevated during the swim until I get a clear lane.
2010-08-26 10:04 AM
in reply to: #3063318

User image

Veteran
Apex, NC
Subject: RE: Race Day Adrenalin and Heart Rate...