General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Racing in snow and ice Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-12-27 2:00 PM

User image

Regular
Citrus Springs, Florida
Subject: Racing in snow and ice
I am new to Michigan (transplant from California via of Florida), so I am just getting used to this cold weather and snowy/icy conditions.  I am running my first race up here on New Year's day (Sgt Preston in Muskegon). I have been training outside with Yak Traks once or twice a week (in addition to the indoor treadmill running) and tried screw shoes today.  Both of these seem to work well, but I have not really been trying to run fast.  Does anyone have any advice for me in terms of racing in snow and ice?

2010-12-27 2:28 PM
in reply to: #3263091

User image

Expert
Ann Arbor, MI
Subject: RE: Racing in snow and ice
I don't think there's anything that will save you from slipping on ice when running hard, certainly not Yak Trax, as I've used them extensively for running outside these past two winters. Pay attention to your footing and tread lightly on the icy spots I guess. Haven't tried the screw shoes though.

What I have found with Yak Trax is that using a shorter stride with quicker turnover, in addition to trying to land more on your forefoot, helps to run both uphill and downhill on snow covered trails. Not only is the most effective part of your yak trax coil located here, but you'll shuck off the caked up snow better if you avoid a heavy heel strike. And if you do slip on an icy patch, you're more likely to be able to save yourself from a nasty spill if your legs aren't so distanced from one another. Enjoy the race!
2010-12-27 3:19 PM

User image

Expert
Norton Shores, MI