BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Sink or SWIM! with WittyCityGirl - CLOSED Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 72

2011-01-12 12:06 PM

User image

Master
Dunedin
Subject: Sink or SWIM! with WittyCityGirl - CLOSED

NAME: Wittycitygirl / Sara

STORY: I am a certified swim instructor/swim coach with a MS in Nutrition and BS in Psychology.  I started triathlon about four years ago when I was looking for a fun way to use my swim skills and lose weight for my wedding.  I worked towards a longer distance each year and this past summer I completed Ironman Lake Placid!!  I love triathlon because I am challenged to maintain my swimming technique/endurance I gained through collegiate swimming and challenged to keep improving on the bike and run.  I am currently recovering from a sports hernia repair so I will be "back to basics" to master the sprint/olympic distances this year.  Aside from triathlon I hope to gain admission to a psychology PhD program in the states (currently accepted into a nutrition program in... NEW ZEALAND!).

FAMILY STATUS: Married to Jon for 3 years and have a chocolate lab furbaby, Halligan (1 1/2 years old). 

CURRENT TRAINING: I am starting from square one.  I am slowly building from not being able to walk back to being a lean, mean swim/bike/run machine!  I typically train 5-6 days/week when I'm not "broken". 

THIS YEAR'S RACES: Last year, I completed IMLP, Syracuse 70.3, and Broome County Triathlon (sprint) PLUS the Wineglass Marathon and several shorter road races.

2010 RACES:  Broome County Triathlon is my only must-do, but as I recover I KNOW I'll be tempted to sign up for more races.  I would love to sneak in an Olympic (or a HIM!) by the end of the summer.

WEIGHTLOSS: I gained a sizeable amount of weight since Lake Placid due to my injury.  My goal is not necessarily weight-loss per se. I'd love to be able to fit into my clothes again!