General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Super-slow run in a tri race compared to stand-alone running race Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-08-22 1:47 PM

Subject: Super-slow run in a tri race compared to stand-alone running race
I had very unsatisfying runs during a recent Sprint and Oly tri races. The pace was 8:16 (Sprint, 3mile) and 9:30 (Oly, 10K), compared to my recent stand-alone road race pace of 7:02 and 7:25. Do these results tell you that I biked too hard? I am coming from a runnign background (although very short) to tri and I am a bike newbie (riding consistently for 1/2yr). I do brick workouts. I did a few 10/2/10/2 (10mile bike followed by 2m run x 2) before an Oly and I did a few tempo bike rides followed by a mile (hard) run at 7:05-7:20pace. Was these bricks simply not enough or I biked too hard? Any advice will be appreciated!!

2005-08-22 1:49 PM
in reply to: #230860

User image

Master
South of SLC
Subject: RE: Super-slow run in a tri race compared to stand-alone running race
Nobody here can really give you the right answer. But, if I were in the same situation, I would increase my bike milage for sure so that I could maintain a higher speed and feel fresh entering T2. Your run speeds will not suffer that much in a tri if you back off of your running a touch and really increase your bike milage.

In an olympic, your nutrition could also be suspect. Evaluate that and see where you could improve and if that is the problem, get more calories and better hydration.

Mike

Edited by Rollin' Thunder 2005-08-22 1:50 PM
2005-08-23 11:35 AM

Regular
Show Low, Arizona
Have you been doing any "bricks" in training?? I'm a super slow runner to start with, but found that if I do at least 1 brick workout a week, my run is much better on race day.

Good Luck!!!!

Mary
-----------------------------------------------------------------
I may never finish 1st or make it to Kona, but I’m proud of the fact that I had the courage to begin my journey.