General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Triathlon readiness litmus test? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-06-08 2:53 PM

Subject: Triathlon readiness litmus test?
So I am new to the triathlon world and have my sights set on a triathlon on July 21st.  The tri has both an olympic and sprint distance, and I can't decide which to sign up for.  I'm late to the game, so I'm kind of winging it when it comes to training, but I've kept in pretty good shape running, and am comfortable swimming and on the bike.  What would be a good litmus test to whether you can finish an olympic tri comfortably?

2011-06-08 3:15 PM
in reply to: #3539477

User image

Regular
Austin, Texas
Subject: RE: Triathlon readiness litmus test?
If you haven't done one, start with the sprint. For new folks getting out there for 3 hours in an oly may not sound bad, but in the heat of summer, untrained, it can be kinda brutal. Have you done a brick? Like 20 mile ride and 5 mile run? That would be a decent litmus test.
2011-06-08 3:34 PM

User image

Expert
Albuquerque, NM
My litmus test, right or wrong, has always been to brick two of the three disciplines at race distance (not necessarily race pace).
I always choose my weak event (running, for me) as one of the disciplines.
2011-06-08 3:38 PM

User image

Expert
Alexandria, MN

I might be totally talking out my rear here, but would this simple approach work:

Honestly ask yourself how far you can swim, bike and run.  Individually.  For example, with the running since it's last and therefore going to be hardest, what kind of running shape are you currently in?  By itself, could you maybe get through a 10K?  Or are you a frequent runner, and that distance is trivial to you?  Or with the biking, how long are the rides you go on?  Do you frequently go out for 30+ miles, averaging 18+ mph?  And with the swimming, will you have the opportunity to get out and swim in a lake a few times to see what you're really getting into?