Overall Rank = 885/1530
Age Group = F30-34
Age Group Rank = 41/79
Swim
  • 42m 59s
  • 2112 yards
  • 02m 02s / 100 yards
Comments:

Not a bad swim. I placed myself about a third of the way back and to the left. It took me awhile to find clear water but I stayed out to the left and had my own space within the first few hundred meters. I had some trouble swimming a straight line - I kept drifting left - but it wasn't too bad. They had a ton of bouys to sight and, starting in the 7th wave, there were plenty of swim caps to follow.

It was a long swim out to the first turn bouy. It felt like we would never get there. It made the short portion across to the the second turn bouy fly by. Then we turned again and were headed for shore. And staring right into the sun. I have tinted goggles but they didn't help one bit. I couldn't see a thing. I was lost, lost, lost. I'm not very good at sighting even in the best of times. I suck at it when the sun is in my eyes. I eventually settled for breathing to the right and just trying to sight off the line of swimmers. I was still driting left but I managed to keep myself more or less on line for the finish.

I was happy to see 42 minutes coming out of the water. I felt nice and fresh and ready to run a marathon to get to transition. Seriously. It took a full minute to jog myself uphill and get to the timing mat and enter transition.
Transition 1
  • 02m 18s
Comments:

Cap and googles off during the run up from the lake. The water was 81* so no wetsuit to bother with. I got my sunglasses, helmet, and racebelt on, jammed some gels into my back pockets, shoved my feet in my shoes, and was on my way. I was shooting for 45 minutes for the swim plus T1. Right on track.
Bike
  • 3h 08m 23s
  • 56 miles
  • 17.84 mile/hr
Comments: