General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Beginning Triathlete Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-09-30 8:21 PM

Subject: Beginning Triathlete

Hi everyone,

My name is Jay, and I am a beginner triathlete or at least making the attempt. I'm new to swimming, so I'm having some really difficulty with that piece of the sport. My goal are some Olympic distance events next season, and would love to do a IM 70.3 end of 2012.

Jay

2011-09-30 8:39 PM
in reply to: #3707226

User image

Chesapeake, VA
Subject: RE: Beginning Triathlete

Hey Jay,

Welcome. Swimming can be a tough mistress to master. If you keep training enough it will get easier. Coaching will help as well but that can get pricey. There are plenty of videos and plans out there online that should help you with your training and race prep. If you ever have any questions please dont hesitate to put the question here on the forum as we are a friendly bunch. Best of luck with your training and races in the future.

2011-09-30 10:06 PM

User image

Veteran
Lake Stevens, Wa

Hi Jay,

Although I've done a bit of cycling this year, I'm just getting started on triathlon training myself.  I'm hoping to get through a couple sprints and finish with an olympic next year.  Like yourself, swimming is by far my biggest challenge/fear.  I've had a couple lessons with a coach at the local high school and that has really helped.  This community as a whole is very supportive with people at all levels up to and including IM always willing to share and help those of us just beginning.  I'm really enjoying the early stages of my training and know it will get better once I really figure out the swimming.  I'm sure you will too.

Cheers!

James

2011-10-01 1:01 PM

User image

Veteran
Plaquemine, Louisiana