General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Really bad eyesight Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2003-11-11 6:49 PM

La Crosse, Wisconsin
Subject: Really bad eyesight
I wanted to know if anyone had any suggestions on contacts vs. glasses. I have contacts, and I've worn them swimming before so that is an option. The problem is I have fairly bad eyesight and when I can't see I tend to get a bit freaked out, so I don't think not wearing them is a good idea, but if they are only going to fall off because the goggles didn't hold the water out, then maybe I should practice without them in. Does anyone else have this problem? If so what brand of goggles best keep out water or is it best to not wear anything and have my glasses waiting for me at my bike....only problem being I wouldn't be able to find my bike.
Any suggestions?...besides laser surgery? I'm a poor college student.

2003-11-11 7:20 PM
in reply to: #1703

User image

athens, ga
Subject: RE: Really bad eyesight
first off what type of goggles are you using. The cheapest thing to do would be to buy a pair of goggles that dont leak. when looking for goggles avoid buying goggles that have the foam around the lense. Find a pair that have rubber around the lense. They tend to suction to your face adn dont allow for water to enter. Try speedo goggles that is what i have. i also heard that the TYR goggles work well to. This way you can wear your contacts and not have to worry about not seeing. also you might want to buy anit-fog spray for the lense, it helps trust me. Just a few solutions on a budget.
2003-11-11 7:45 PM
in reply to: #1706

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.

Edited by Lara_SD 2003-11-11 7:46 PM
2003-11-11 8:31 PM

Extreme Veteran
Fort Wayne, IN
A simple solution to the fogging up of goggles is to use dish soap. Just rub a little bit one and rinse out the soap. It doesn't take much at all but works real well. If soap is getting in your eyes you have used too much.