General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Training question for tri on Sunday Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-06-07 3:36 PM

User image

Expert
Subject: Training question for tri on Sunday
I'm doing my first triathlon in 4 years on Sunday-it's a sprint (750m , 23K, 5K) and I only started training in earnest a couple of weeks ago, and had a minor medical procedure last week that cost me 3 training days. My max distances have been 1300 in the pool (800 straight free), 13 miles on the bike, and a 5 mile run. I did a short brick yesterday (4 mile bike, 2 mile run), that actually went pretty well-the bike felt hard, and the run started out tough, but I ended up doing <9:00 minute miles on the run (that's really fast for me).

Anyway, I'm looking for training advice for the week. My big concern is the bike-I really had wanted to do a 20 miler, but I don't think it would be a good idea at this point when I should be tapering. Tomorrow I'm planning to go to the lake where the tri will be and swim (with my wetsuit)-probably a bit longer than the race distance. Otherwise I'm not sure how to taper this week- should I focus on the bike and do a couple of 10 milers? Or would that be too much considering my lack of training? I can't bike today because of schedule and kids, but I'm thinking I'll do a treadmill run, or a weights/rest day.

Thanks!

2004-06-07 4:23 PM
in reply to: #29795

User image

Master
Berkeley, CA
Subject: RE: Training question for tri on Sunday
You really should make sure that you taper, even though you feel like you've missed some needed training. The tapering will enable to give your best performance on Sunday. You won't make any significant gains this week that would be worth what you would lose.

Here's a possible schedule for the week (one of many possibles that you could work with!)