United States
Firstwave Events
Sunny
Total Time = 1h 57m 5s
Overall Rank = 744/2391
Age Group = 30-39
Age Group Rank = 105/485
Pre-race routine:

This was my first "real" race in about two years, after a long and slow recovery from PF. I never stopped running entirely but my mileage got very low while I tried to shake the injury. I started training again last July to prepare for Ragnar Relay, which I did just for fun. By the start of this year I felt ready to train in earnest again and set this half as my target race.

I used a conservative plan (Higdon intermediate) and my initial goal was to come in under two hours. But a week or two before the race I decided I needed to be more aggressive. My weekly mileage was similar to my previous PR (from four years ago -- yikes), plus I was about 10 pounds lighter (and four year older -- yikes again). So I figured what the hell, let's aim for the PR.

My friend James joined me for his first half marathon. We drove down to Santa Cruz the night before, and I actually slept fairly well -- got about five hours, which for me is amazing. We woke a little before 6 a.m. and I snacked on a pre-made peanut butter sandwich. We walked down to the start to get our bibs at 6:30, then hung out in a wonderful coffee shop for an hour. Yay! Nothing like a delicious Americano before a race. By 7:30 a.m. the sun had come out so we walked back to my car to drop off our sweatshirts and then returned to the start line about 7:55. I worked my way toward the front end of the crowd to avoid the crush at the back of the pack.
Event warmup:

Nothing, other than some walking back and forth from my car to the start line (about four blocks) and warming up with my Americano.
Run
  • 1h 57m 5s
  • 13.1 miles
  • 08m 56s  min/mile
Comments: