Sun Multisport Events
65F / 18C
Sunny
Total Time = 6h 43m 13s
Overall Rank = 487/611
Age Group = F3034
Age Group Rank = 27/36
Pre-race routine:

I am totally new to this kind of race. This is my second triathlon. The first was a sprint that I competed in one month ago. My husband and I were both doing this race so I made us PB&J sandwiches and set the alarm for 3:15am. Ate the sandwich and some handfuls of granola and went back to sleep. Woke up again at 4:15 to eat some applesauce and get ready to go. We live nearby so it was just a 25 minute drive to Cathedral Camp. Ate a Hammer Gel before the swim.
Event warmup:

I swam a short distance in the lake after wetsuiting up. I only have a handful of OWS experiences, including one at Long Pond, and the water was choppier than I had experienced. The water felt warm and the practice got me energized. I felt confident I could survive the swim.
Swim
  • 49m 51s
  • 2112 yards
  • 02m 22s / 100 yards
Comments:

I am a novice swimmer. In January, I couldn't swim a length of the pool without taking in water. One month ago in a sprint tri, I had to sidestroke the 0.25 mile swim (prior wetsuit was too tight). My only goal here was to survive. I was able to complete the entire course in freestyle. The women in my wave were very polite. As I got further out in the water, the chop picked up and I took waves to the face when trying to breathe. I was pleased that I didn't panic and managed to continue on.