General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Unprepared . . . Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-12-01 4:06 AM

New user

Subject: Unprepared . . .

Hi there, so I am new to triathlons. Bit nervous about my training so far (pretty much none). 
I have been out of action for a couple of months with injuries, during that time I decided to give triathlons a go. I am a former swimmer but haven't been in the water for several months and am pretty new to cycling (doing around 140km commuting a week). I struggle a bit with running though due partly to a knee injury.

The race is in a week and I feel like I have not done enough training. Pretty much my question is what should I concentrate on? I have pretty limited time due to my other sport taking up a both mornings and evenings. Should I working on the brick workouts, my running, swimming, open water swimming etc?

It is a super sprint race as I was worried about running with an injury, so the situation could be a lot worse,  but I am competitive so I want to do fairly well in this event.

Thank you in advice for any help you could give me.

2012-12-01 6:07 AM
in reply to: #4517422

User image

Resident Curmudgeon
The Road Back
Gold member
Subject: RE: Unprepared . . .

Work on your transitions. That's about the only thing you can improve with a week to go.

If you haven't before, an open water swim might help, just to have you experience the difference of swimming out of a pool.

2012-12-01 6:15 AM

User image

Regular
Arlington, VA

You can also look around a bunch of threads that have some advice on what to bring and how to set up transition. As far as race time though, with a week to go training super hard won't do much for you and you risk injury.

Stay healthy, practice transitions, do some light training, and get some sleep.

2012-12-01 6:17 AM

User image