General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Orca vs Ironman Wetsuits Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-07-12 11:06 AM

Subject: Orca vs Ironman Wetsuits
Hey all, I am in the market for my first wetsuit. I have been told to purchase the Orca by some friends, however there are half a dozen options and different price ranges. I am a beginner but feel that I should be buying a suit the would allow for some upward progession for improvement. Sports Basement and a decent selection, and am leaning towards the Evo for price and versitility.

http://www.sportsbasement.com/jump.jsp?iShadCat=1744&itemID=8748&it...

I also found a place on ebay with an older model of Orca's high end PFLEX

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180006176396&ssp...

for the extra $50.00 it seemas like a no brainer. Does anybody have some useful feedback on these suits or possibly a recommendation on another suit for an entry level with aspirations? Thanks so much. Dutch

2006-07-12 6:56 PM
in reply to: #480189

Subject: RE: Orca vs Ironman Wetsuits
come on aren't there any knowledgable tri-wetsuit people out there that might have an opinion????
2006-07-13 5:18 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Sydney
Wetsuits are all about fit... (wow, never thought I'd say anything was about the fit rather than the bling...)

Independent testing has shown that there is limited speed differences provided by the bling bits (forearm panels etc), however more expensive wetsuits tend to fit better. They use higher quality neoprene and spend more time tailoring it in the right places. However, if you then go and get completely the wrong size or wrong "cut" for you then you've lost all of those benefits.

I had my heart set on the P-Flex (current model that makes you look like an "Incredible") but when I tried it on it was totally the wrong fit for me, so finished up with the Ironman Stealth which has been perfect for me.