General Discussion Triathlon Talk » How long to wait Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-05-27 3:55 AM

User image

Chelmsford, England
Subject: How long to wait
Good morning all, I am looking to the future.
I was wondering about how long I should wait before thinking about a full on ironman.
Should I finish this year add a 70.3 next year then go for it in 2016 ???
I have only just started triathlons, how much training is the usual amount for a full ironman

all advice please

Edited by Jynxy 2014-05-27 3:57 AM

2014-05-27 9:45 AM
in reply to: Jynxy

User image

Extreme Veteran
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Subject: RE: How long to wait
I think that it depends on the individual. Do you have an endurance background in one of the three sports (S,B, R)? Do you have the discipline and time to train for a longer race?

I am currently in my fourth year doing Tris and will be doing my first IM in Boulder this August. Some people take longer, but I have also seen some people do an IM in their first year doing Tris.

I come from a running background and had done several marathons before doing Tris, I did one Sprint tri my first year, two sprints and two olympics in my second year, one olympic and a HIM last year. This year I am doing a HIM in June then the IM in August.
2014-05-27 11:35 AM

User image

Utah
I have been running/doing triathlon for 5 years now and just barely signed up for my first IM, which will be next May. I feel that prior to now would have been to soon. Who am I kidding, I am still wondering if I jumped the gun too soon! But like others have said, it is a personal decision.
2014-05-27 1:54 PM

There's no right answer to that question. I completed an IM in my 3rd triathlon season, and that was only my 7th triathlon race in all. Others will 'wait' much longer.