General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Thoughts on Training during Summer Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-05-10 2:50 PM

Subject: Thoughts on Training during Summer
Hey all. So as mentioned in one of my other posts I am new to triathlons and have one mini-sprint under my belt. My wife is due with our second child in about 8 weeks and I don't plan to do any other races this season because I just won't be able to commit the time to train consistently and will most likely be exhausted lol. However, I am trying to figure out what my best approach should be to training for at least the next 8 weeks and the remainder of the summer to the extent things become a little more regular and I can actually plan workouts ahead of time. My guess is after the baby is born I will just hit some workouts whenever I can muster up the time and energy.

So, again I am pretty new to endurance training and am also recovering from IT band issues which have prevented me from running a lot. I had planned to cut back on swimming a bit and focus more on trying to build a better base for running (hoping to slowly build and maybe that would help my IT band issue) and biking. Do you think I should just follow one of the simple sprint plans for the next 8 weeks, then just workout whenever I can and reassess later once things calm down or is there maybe some off-season plan I could follow. Any ideas or thoughts would be helpful.

Thanks in advance!!

2016-05-10 4:22 PM
in reply to: cdoug55

User image

Wakefield, Massachusetts
Subject: RE: Thoughts on Training during Summer

I'll let others chime in with what you should do in the next 8 weeks with regards to structured training, since that's never been my strong suit.