General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Thrower Turned Triathlete Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-02-27 10:38 AM

Subject: Thrower Turned Triathlete
Hello Everyone!

I have always wanted to train for and compete in a triathlon. I am a former collegiate and post-collegiate thrower that has finally decided to register for a sprint triathlon. I'll be competing in a sprint race on August 25th.

I'm not sure how my body will hold up, but I think 6 months of training time should be sufficient enough to have a reasonably acceptable performance and finish the race. I'm 6'1" and weigh 285#. I have no real swimming experience besides swimming in our backyard pool with my family. We ride bikes around our neighborhood. I haven't ran three consecutive miles in over 10 years.

With your support and guidance, I hope to finish my race and check off completing a triathlon from my bucket list.

Your advice and suggestions are greatly appreciated!

2018-02-27 1:26 PM
in reply to: cinfurna

Subject: RE: Thrower Turned Triathlete
You're in a way better spot than me when I started my journey.
I was 305. Hadn't run a single mile in more than 2 decades. And, I was never involved in any kind of athletic activity.
I didn't start actually participating until I was pretty far down the road fitness wise, but you'll be fine.

If you've got a pool.....I'm guessing you're at least a confident swimmer...which is a huge part of the battle for some folks. For some, the swim is 'daunting'. I'm guessing it doesn't scare you so much. Yeah, if it's open water, that can change things, but if you view it as "fun", it'll never be daunting.

The ride will be cake for ya. Because riding bikes is fun.

The run? Worst case, you trot what you can. Shuffle the rest. You'll finish.

That's goal #1 for most of us starting out. Finish. Crossing the line is an acceptable performance for 99%(?) of us at a given race.