General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Advice for Final Week of Training Please Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-06-17 7:40 AM

Subject: Advice for Final Week of Training Please
Hi there,
I am new here and loving all the info! I’m competing in my very first triathlon a week from today! eeek! It’s a sprint distance in Florida heat (about 90°) and a beach swim. Unfortunately the local pages for this race do not provide much information at all on what to expect. I’ve been training for a couple months but now I’m wondering what I should do for hydration and nutrition this week as I prepare as well as during the race. I don’t want to over do it since it’s pretty short. I’ve been a 5k & 10K runner for a few years and know how those feel but I’m not sure what to expect for this one.
What type of training is best in this final week as well?
And finally, what do you wish you knew/would have done differently on race day?
Thanks so much!

2018-06-17 11:27 AM
in reply to: #5244751

User image

Franklin, TN
Subject: RE: Advice for Final Week of Training Please
Pretty exciting, isn't it! You'll have fun.

The hay is in the barn as far as fitness goes. You'll want to trim your workout durations but include a few race intensity efforts.

Practice your transition setup and execution. Simple and organized is the way to go.

Since you're doing a beach start, practice some sighting drills in your swims this week.

Make a checklist of everything you need for race day. It wouldn't be fun to forget something like a helmet or goggles in the morning rush to get to the race.

Good luck! You'll learn a lot just by doing it and watching others.

2018-06-17 5:12 PM
in reply to: #5244756

When race day rolls around remember to have fun!
2018-06-18 9:57 AM
in reply to: MariaGayle

User image

Extreme Veteran
Olathe
Hydration and nutrition is important race day AND days leading up to a race.
Leading up to the race, don't over eat, don't under eat. Eat as you normally would.