General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Newbie completed first Olympic! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2019-07-10 11:45 AM

Subject: Newbie completed first Olympic!
Hi all!
I am relatively new to triathlon and completed my first Olympic Tri last weekend. There were a lot of positives that day. I somehow remained super calm that morning, I was able to swim steady and not get my heartrate too high even though my goggles were leaking and I stopped 3 times to try to fix them! I used advice I read on here to not be dizzy at the end of the swim which worked (thanks for that!) The bike felt pretty good. It was challenging but doable for me. The run was a bit of a mess. I couldn’t get into a groove. I think I would do things a little different from a nutrition stand point, and probably need to run more in the day time. The temps were not crazy hot, but still 25-30 degrees hotter than when I workout at 5am and I think it just got to me. Overall it was a great experience. The 2 things that are nagging me is the run (I came from running, so it was a bit disappointing) and the fact I finished 10th to last. I didn’t expect to even be in the top half, and I wish it wouldn’t bother me, but now I have been bitten by the bug and want to get faster.