General Discussion Triathlon Talk » New to Triathlons Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2020-01-01 8:52 AM

Subject: New to Triathlons
Hi, as the thread explains, I am brand new to the concept of triathlons and want to push myself to accomplish something I didn’t think I can. I am booked on to do my first OD tri in September and wanted to know, is there a minimum time that you need to achieve? Are you disqualified?

I am not very fit at the moment and want his to be my push in 2020, but worried I may be too slow.

Thank you all and happy new year

2020-01-01 10:18 PM
in reply to: #5265053

User image

Subject: RE: New to Triathlons
Welcome to the club!

Each race can have different cut off times for the event. They may even have cutoffs for each individual leg of the race. I would email the race director or check out the athlete guide to see if it’s listed.

You have plenty of time to get ready. Good luck!
2020-01-02 12:10 PM
in reply to: CarlCarlos

Sounds like you have lots of time. I think you're going to be ok. Some races do have cut off times. You can always email the race director if you can't find information about cut off times.
Here's a couple things to consider:
Join a Tri Club or Master's Swim Group
Snag a book on triathlon
Practice running after biking (Brick Run)

Best of luck!
2020-01-02 4:55 PM
in reply to: #5265081

Thank you for the advice and best wishes
2020-01-03 7:06 AM
in reply to: CarlCarlos

User image

, Pennsylvania
Embrace the suck Carlos.

You have lots of new adventures ahead and they are all individually intimidating enough that most people won't endeavor to do them. You did so tie your shoes and let's go.

The Swim