General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Plantar flaciitis Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-01-30 3:59 PM

New user

Subject: Plantar flaciitis
I was diagnosed with PF on the outside tendon on my foot. I've been running for 15 years and never had a problem. So I believe it to be the biking I have been doing. I recently started biking and think it may be the shoes or pedals. I bought a starter pair of road shoes and speed play pedals. Anyone have any experience or advice. I am wondering if I should invest in a pair of good road shoes. Thanks.

2007-01-30 7:43 PM
in reply to: #673233

User image

Western North Carolina
Subject: RE: Plantar flaciitis
Biking = lower back tightness, lowerback tightness = hamstring tightness, hamstring tightness=calf tightness, calf tightness = achilles tightness, achilless tightness = plantar tightness. Something down that long line of muscles and tendons had to give. OR you changed your shoes either way -- keep up the yoga "downward dog" pose, and every stretch you know down that long line. It also helps to add ice, and keep it up for eternity. If you are me, you ignore the plantar and end up with a heel spur. Take it slow and easy. STRETCH, ICE, STRETCH, ICE.
2007-01-31 12:02 PM

User image

Master
Harvard, Illinois
Do you have orthotics in your bike shoe? If not you might want to invest in some and give that a try. I went to a podiatrist once who said that we may be able to get away without them when running but when it comes to cycling the majority of people out there need them and don't realize it.
2007-02-07 9:54 PM

User image

Veteran
Springdale AR