TriTucson.com
70F / 21C
Overcast
Total Time = 1h 42m 10s
Overall Rank = 130/163
Age Group = 25-29
Age Group Rank = 24/27
Pre-race routine:

I went to pick up my race packet on Saturday morning. I read through all of the info, pinned my number to my belt and attached it to my bike, and started to pack everything. I was assigned to Wave #1, as the waves were based on estimated swim time for 800 yds. I turned in an estimated time of 22 minutes. I think it was good to be in the first wave, since the course would be less crowded and, as a newbie, I wouldn't need to worry about getting run over as much.

I also went to the pre-race meeting Saturday evening. The event director went over each section of the race, and we were allowed to ask questions. I'm really glad that I went to the meeting. I saw Sandy there, a fellow Tucson Tri Girl, and we found out we were in the same wave.

After the meeting I checked out the balcony above the pool, to see what the view of my lane looked like. I was going to be in Lane #6, which was a pretty good location for my parents and Zac (my husband) to watch.

After the meeting I headed home and finished packing everything. I had a small dinner of plain pasta, and went to bed at around 9 PM. My alarm was set for 4 AM the next morning. Yikes! I actually woke up at 2 AM to use the bathroom, and couldn't sleep well after that. I was too nervous to oversleep.
Event warmup:

I got to the transition area at about 5:30 AM, and found a rack. I laid everything out, then went and got my body marking. I wandered around a bit with Zac, and made sure I had everything in order. At about 6:15 AM (15 mins before my wave) I got in the pool to warm up. I swam about 150 yds to try to work the jitters out. That's all I had time to do, since my wave started at 6:30 AM.
Swim
  • 19m 41s
  • 825 yards
  • 02m 23s / 100 yards
Comments: