General Discussion Race Reports! » Dallas White Rock Half Marathon (LONG) Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

Dallas White Rock Half Marathon (LONG) - Run

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Dallas, Texas
United States
47F / 8C
Precipitation
Total Time = 2h 16m 42s
Overall Rank = 3094/5209
Age Group = M40-44
Age Group Rank = 275/234872
Pre-race routine:

Sleep deprivation is the name of the game and I am an expert in that capacity. I really do have to see about that "issue". It's not that I can't sleep, it's that I don't even make a half-hearted attempt to get some serious REM before a race. Maybe that will be my New Years resolution. We'll see. Anyway, Brian (bkarhu) and I double checked everything and headed out for the 30 minute drive to the AAC. As we pulled onto the main highway, I uttered something optimistic about the weather being good...and then the skies opened up. It was a Kodak moment on both of our faces as his windshield wipers were swinging across his windshield faster than we could focus. The inevitable 'WTF are we DOING?!' passed quickly and we made it to our destination. We made a last minute executive decision to eschew the warm running attire for the bare minimums and headed the 1/2 mile to the race start. As SOON as we got there, I immediately regretted our decision to go light. The temps were dropping...and it started to spit (that's West Texas vernacular for drizzle).
Event warmup: