BT Development Mentor Program Archives » medic0020's Group - CLOSED--BUSTIN AT THE SEAMS Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 73

2007-12-07 1:02 PM

User image

Expert
Charlotte, NC
Subject: medic0020's Group - CLOSED--BUSTIN AT THE SEAMS
NAME: medic0020/Eric
STORY: Just over 3 years ago, I was diagnosed with Hodkins Lymphoma.  After 8 months of chemo, I was looking to rebuild my health. A friend suggested that I train for a sprint triathlon and an addiction was born.  I am a paramedic in Charlotte, NC.
FAMILY STATUS: Married with 4 children, including an 8-month old
CURRENT TRAINING: I'm fortunate enough to work with a local coach. I typically train about 10 hrs a week.  This past year I moved up to the Olympic Distance and my 2008 plans are for a Half-Iron.  I do use a HRM for most of my workouts.  I think that I tend to train by feel (perceived effort) as much as anything else.  I like some technology to help me along the way but I'm not a huge fan of too much technology.  Although, I'm finding this is changing as I become more experienced and look for extra ways to improve my fitness and racing.
THIS YEAR'S RACES: 2007--7 sprints (1 3rd Place Clydesdale); 3 Olympics (including a 3rd Place Clyde at the Setup Championship Event
2008 RACES:  

Monthly Averages--350 miles bike; 40 mile run; 15000 yds swim
Qualify for Setup Championship Invitational (Top 15 Clydesdales)
4-Lowe's Time Trials

Myrtle Beach Half Mary/Mich Ultra Metric Century 2/16/08
MAP Sprint 3/29/08
White Lake HIM 5/03/08
Over the Mtn Olympic 5/31/08
Latta Sprint 6/14/08
Hurley Sprint 7/19/08
Lake Logan Olympic 8/08
Lake Norman Sprint 8/23/08
Setup Championship Event 10/08  ???

Beach2Battleship HIM 11/08

WEIGHTLOSS: I currently race as a Clydesdale (male over 200 lbs).  I've accepted that my body type will always keep me a Clyde.  Even at my sickest I only got down to 205 (I'm 6'4).  I'm running about 225 currently and would prefer to go thru this season around 215.