Canadian Triathlon Forum Ontario » First Time Tri-Triathlon..HELP Rss Feed  
Moderators: Silver_wlf, alicefoeller Reply
2011-05-10 5:49 PM

Subject: First Time Tri-Triathlon..HELP

Hello,

I'm doing the Tri-Triathlon July 24th, in Bala Ontario.  I have never done one before and am alittle unaware of what to expect.  I had a partner to do it with but since they have had to drop out and I am on my own.  Guidle-lines what type of Bike Tires do I need for my mountaiin bike ( I'm using an old one just because it's my first one, will that be ok?) How do I set-up my clothes and what do I wear..Do you run in your bathing suit?  I'm really nervous and not sure, any help would be greatly appreciated...

Thanks in advance

Kristy from Bowmanville

2011-05-10 8:36 PM
in reply to: #3492364

User image

Veteran
Hudson Valley, NY
Subject: RE: First Time Tri-Triathlon..HELP

For my first tri, I went and got slick tires for my mountain bike, and I'm sure I went a little faster, but honestly, for my first one, I wouldn't have needed to.  If it's a sprint tri, you'll see lots of different bikes on the course.

You find a lot of info on line, checklists and such about what to pack, how to set up your transition area etc.  Lots of tips are on here too!    Here's a link for a checklist:  http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/discussion/training/race-checklist.asp

As far as what to bike/run in, for my first tri, I didn't have a wetsuit.  I bought a swim bikini, and then just pulled my running shorts (the fitted ones, kind of like bike shorts without the pad) on, and used the swim bikini top as my bra, and pulled on a wicking top.  I biked in my running shoes. I went super low cost with the first one.  For the second one, I asked for a ton of tri gear for Christmas, so I had the tri shorts, bought a wetsuit, etc.    I still have the same bike, and it works fine for now.  If I ever go toward Olympic or Half Iron, I'll get a new bike, but I dont' see the need for me to spend $ on a new bike.