BT Development Mentor Program Archives » owl_girl's Mentor Group for Mommies - CLOSED Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 14

2010-12-21 3:10 PM

User image

Elite
far northern CA
Subject: owl_girl's Mentor Group for Mommies - CLOSED

NAME:  Tracy (aka. owl_girl)

STORY:  As a Mommy of a 20 month old boy, I know how difficult it is to juggle kids, husband, home, work, and exercise.  Mommies are expected to do it all...and to do it all well.  Exercise is the first thing that gets scratched off the list.  I have been doing triathlons for six years and on Beginner Triathlete since 2006.  Triathlon was my way of staying healthy before I had a baby, while I was pregnant, and after giving birth.  Today, I am a much better Mommy and Wife because I put my mental and physical health at the very top of my list of responsibilities.

FAMILY STATUS:  I am a Wife to my fabulous Husband who is an awesome runner and cyclist and Mommy to our 20 month old boy.  We live on the far northern California coast.

CURRENT TRAINING:  I do not follow a pre-determined training plan.  Trial and error and consistency has determined the appropriate schedule for me.  I do not schedule rest days.  Rest days take care of themselves when my toddler (or husband) is sick or cranky.  I love to run so I base my bike and swim workouts on my self-imposed running schedule.  I train for half-ironman distance races so I can race well at sprint and olympic distances.

2010 RACES:  2010 was a good year for me.  I did several running races between 2 and 10 miles.  I did three sprint triathlons.  One did not go very well.  I placed first in my age group at the other two.  I also did two bike time trials and broke my age group record at both of them.