Canadian Triathlon Forum British Columbia » Vancouver subaru 2013 Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply
2013-05-02 6:33 PM

User image

North Vancouver, British Columbia
Subject: Vancouver subaru 2013

Hi all,

I'm a beginner in triathlon and just registered for my first one in July in Vancouver. I don't have a wetsuit yet but I'm looking for one. I know the water in Vancouver, or BC in general, is never warm, should I be looking for a full sleeves or sleevesless wetsuit?

Also if anyone has any good tips on where to find one for a good price in the Vancouver area. I don't want to spend a lot of money for my first wetsuit.

Thanks a lot

Naimi

2013-05-02 8:48 PM
in reply to: #4725066

User image

Extreme Veteran
Penticton, BC
Subject: RE: Vancouver subaru 2013

Hi Naimi, congrats on taking the plunge and registering for your first Tri.  I can't help you much with info on Vancouver but I did buy my 1st wetsuit last year in Kelowna.  I bought a nice Blue-Seventy that I really like but it cost a bit high at $350-ish.  There are less expensive options and many people even buy online.  How long will your swim be?  If it is not too long and you are well prepared you might choose to swim without a wetsuit for your first Tri but you do gain some flotation and streamlining with a wetsuit.

Take your time shopping and learn as much as possible by looking at gear reviews here on BT and any Tri friends or just other friendly triathletes (like when you're at your local pool to swim and you strike up a conversation.  You could also check manufacturers websites for info as well.

In prep for your Tri you'll want to get in some good open water swim practice as it does get hard for some people for the 1st few swims.  Some people hyperventilate and wind up swimming breaststroke instead of freestyle.  I've even seen a few people switch to backstroke.