General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Carrying Nutrition/Fluids HIM/IM Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-06-26 4:06 PM

User image

, Jawa Barat
Subject: Carrying Nutrition/Fluids HIM/IM
Hello Everyone,

So, I am new to this so please do not judge me and my ignorance on the subject area. I have my first HIM in a couple of weeks and I am doing the IM Malaysia in Sept. I am trying to find the most efficient/affordable way to carry the things that I need. I am thinking that I will only bring 2 water bottles, but I need a place to carry my gels and a place to carry a spare tire and all that goes along with that.

With my extremely limited experience out there, I have been doing a LOT of research and have come to the conclusion that NO ONE agrees with what to do. So, I am going to tell y'all what I am thinking and you can tear it a part and help me! (-;

A drinking system for in between the aerobars with one water bottle behind my seat. In the other cage behind my seat, I am going to put all of my spare tire things into a bottle and put it in that cage. I am then thinking that I will tape the gels that I use onto the bike where I can just tear and use.

What do you guys think? Acceptable? Will I need more water. I have one more spot for water on the seat tube, but from what I understand, that is the worse place to put a bottle aerodynamically... Okay, I am ready for judgement,

2014-06-26 4:28 PM
in reply to: JoshuaBlackburn

User image

Master
Salt Lake City
Subject: RE: Carrying Nutrition/Fluids HIM/IM
A lot of this depends on your individual bike setup as well as personal preference.

For my long course races I use a Between the aerobars bottle and an aero bottle on the downtube. I carry my nutrition in a speedpack on the top tube behind the stem and live dangerously with only a can of fix a flat taped under my helmet tail.