of 4

2010-12-29 6:44 AM

User image

Expert
Subject: Daffodil's Group - Closed

WHEN CAN YOU START MENTORING CONSISTENTLY: Now
NAME: Daffodil / Laura

STORY:
I did my first triathlon in 2001 when i was 20 years old.  I had the idea planted in my mind the year before and then watching Simon Whitfield win the gold for Canada in the 2000 olympics sealed the deal for me.  The next summer I did my first tri (I swam and ran occasionally before I started training).  Over the years, I have gone through periods of more or less motivation, although most years I have done at least one triathlon (except 2004 and 2008).  I have completed a bunch of half marathons and sprints, 2 half IMs, a marathon and a full IM (Florida).  I tri because I love swimming, biking and running.  I also find it more motivating to stay in shape when I have a goal.  I live in southwestern Ontario.

FAMILY STATUS:
married with no kids.  They will come eventually.  Right now are kids are in feline or bicycle form .  My husband doesn't do tris, so I like this online community because it gives me the chance to talk about tris on a daily basis with people who can relate.

CURRENT TRAINING:
In 2010, I hired a coach for the first time.  I have a pretty demanding job and I wanted the help of a coach to stay on track while training for my first IM.  Since my IM, I've been taking it pretty easy, but I'm planning on starting up with the training again in the new year.  I plan to continue with the coach, at least for now.

THIS YEAR'S RACES:
I ended up not doing too many races in 2010, I was more focused on training.  I did one 10k, one half marathon, one half IM and IM florida.

2011 RACES: