General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Tri Bike or Road bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2008-07-14 8:04 PM

User image

Easton
Subject: Tri Bike or Road bike

Can anyone offer suggestions on which type of bike to buy: Triathlon bike or Road bike. I'm new to the world of triathlons. I'm looking to purchase first bike and wanted to know which direction to go. I anticipate using the bike for Sprints but as I gain experience I might decide to go longer. My first Tri is a sprint in august but have really enjoyed the experience and look to do many more.

Please offer of the pro's and con's other either bike.

2008-07-15 12:32 AM
in reply to: #1529562

New user

East Valley Arizona
Subject: RE: Tri Bike or Road bike

I'm new to the triathlons as well. The first triathlon I did, I completed in a mountain bike, and I voed to never again.

Check this weblink out. I'm in the same boat as you and I found this "blurb," to be pretty helpful.

http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/cms/article-detail.asp?articleid=435

From what I've researched it's all about what you want to spend. Road bikes from what I've found seem to be less expensive than triathlon bikes. Everyone has their preference as to what brand, so go out to you're local bike shops and sit on them, get a feel for them.

Also too, you can save a lot of money by purchasing a bike online, BUT you lose those special "perks," i.e. lifetime tune ups and special warrenties that you would get if you were to buy a bike from your local bike shop.

I know this probably hasn't helped you but if it has RIGHT ON and GOOD LUCK in August.

JT3

2008-07-15 12:58 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Auckland, New Zealand

I decided to get back into triathlon's again after a 12 year break.  I bought a road bike to use during winter (Southern Hemisphere) and intend to buy a tri-bike before the season starts in November.

Pro's of tri-bike:

You'll save time as you'll be more aerodynamic