General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Fitness goals -- helpful? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2008-08-20 4:36 PM

User image

Regular
Subject: Fitness goals -- helpful?
Have you found that setting a goal, like a triathlon, makes a big difference in your success with maintaining exercise? This may be a stupid question, but let me explain why I am asking. I am a doctor (general internal medicine), and spend a lot of time counseling patients regarding exercise and diet. In attempting to maintain a regular exercise program myself, I have found it to be extremely helpful for me to set a concrete goal, such as participating in MS 150, a century, or a triathlon. It has made a bigger difference in maintaining my own regular exercise plan than anything I have done before. I have started adding this to my exercise counseling. For many patients, it may be a smaller goal, such as walking a 5K, or perhaps a local 20 mile fun ride, but the point is to have something to train for.

I am wondering if this is just me, or if others have seen a major benefit from setting goals like this? I would love to hear some success stories!

2008-08-20 4:45 PM
in reply to: #1617280

User image

Lafayette, CO
Subject: RE: Fitness goals -- helpful?
Oh, yeah, most definitely.  And don't just say you're going to do it.  Register.  Something about having paid that entry fee does it for me.  And while I've always been active it's not been to the level this summer has been for me.  Something changed this year and now I'm addicted.  To exercise. To racing.  This summer started with a 2 day mountain bike ride called Fat Tire Classic in Winter Park.  Then I did the My Way or the Tri Way and will end my event season with Buffalo Bicycle Classic in a couple of weeks.  Each one has given me new goals, new excitement and new rewards.  It's now like a drug and I need my fix. 
2008-08-20 4:47 PM

User image

Master