Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 22

2008-12-16 2:41 PM

User image

Pro
Simpsonville, SC
Subject: Barqhead's Group - FULL
NAME: Barqhead AKA Pam
STORY: I am a 38 year old mom of two. I am also a lifeguard/swim instructor/lifeguard instructor at a local YMCA. I got into triathlon in 2004 as a way to lose baby weight and regain some sort of fitness.
FAMILY STATUS: I am married with two kids. My son is 10 and my daughter is 7, both have done kids' triathlons.
CURRENT TRAINING: I am currently coached by a local triathlete/coach. I previously coached myself but decided to go with a professional when I jumped up to the Half Iron distance in 2007.
THIS YEAR'S RACES: 2008 was a year of injury management I did race 3 sprints, 1 olympic and 1 half ironman, plus loads of metric century bicycle tours and a 10K.
2009 RACES: Tentative races for 2009 include Parris Island Sprint Tri, White Lake Half Ironman and not tentative, a definite go, the money is already down, Ironman Couer D'Alene in June!
WEIGHTLOSS: I started at 174 pounds in 2004 and am currently bobbing along at 145. I lost the brunt of my weight in 2005 using the Weight Watchers program.
WHAT WILL MAKE ME A GOOD MENTOR: I have a strong swimming background and am a very good cyclist (for a girl ) Running is my weakness and I believe in training my limiters! I plan on touching base with my group via the mentor thread at least twice a week and popping into your training logs at least once a week. Feel free to ask me any questions and I will do my best to respond in a timely manner. I can share some things I've learned in my 5 years of triathlon as well as some tips my coach has shared with me. I LOVE this sport. Can't wait to share the passion with other new addicts

Edited by barqhead 2008-12-22 7:49 PM

2008-12-17 4:02 PM
in reply to: #1857070

User image

Veteran
Richland, MS
Subject: RE: Barqhead's Group - Open

Hi Pam, I would love to be part of your group, you were recommended by Sesh (Bill).