General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Half-Ironman as your first tri Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2011-04-18 10:50 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
NW Arkansas
Subject: Half-Ironman as your first tri

Long story short, I was a runner for quite a number of years until two years ago when I had to have a hip replacement (due to a trama when I was 14, I'm 39 now). No running for at least a year on doctor's orders but was cleared to ride a bike. Fell in love with cycling and even did okay in lower level races. Got clearance last summer to run again, so I started slowly and at some point decided I would like to do triathlons. Started swimming last fall. Haven't fell in love with it but it's not so bad Smile

I've been training pretty hard for a few months with no specific target tri event. I wanted to see how my hip would hold up to the 9+ mile runs. I've exceeded my own expectations and ran a half-marathon a couple of weeks ago faster than I ever did pre-hip replacement.

So, now I'm all fired up wanting to do a HIM soon, but I haven't done a tri of any distance. I did a duathlon a few weeks ago, so I've at least experienced the transition, but I haven't done a group swim in open water or obviously the swim to bike transition.

Kansas HIM is 9 weeks away (I think). I've looked at some training plans for HIMs, including the free one on here, and even though most are 16-20 week plans, the weekly work I've been doing for the past few months exceeds most of the early parts of the plans. I think I could just pick up a plan with the remaining weeks and be ready for it, but I can't figure out if I'm trying to talk myself into or out of going for it.

Would love some opinions on whether or not you would do a HIM as your very first tri, especially knowing my history. Thanks and sorry for being so wordy.

2011-04-18 11:11 AM
in reply to: #3452480

User image

Elite
Subject: RE: Half-Ironman as your first tri