BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Canadian athlete- closed! Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 5

2008-01-07 10:05 PM

New user
Subject: Canadian athlete- closed!
Name: Heather Hendricks

Yes you can join if you are from somewhere else other than Canada... I just thought it would make me unique

I've been racing in triathlons for 3 years now and 2-3 years of running prior to that. The summer I got married (2006) I didn't end up racing since my wedding was then. I started with 5km races, then 10, then half marathons and one marathon so far (Vancouver Marathon). I've completed several triathlons each year upping the anti from sprint to Half Ironman last year (Oliver, B.C. June 3rd). Throughout all this I have overcome minor injuries such as IT band, shin problems etc. I found triathlons balanced me out and forced me to go beyond pounding the pavement.

This year I'm looking forward to my first tri of the season in March at UBC triathlon either a spring or Olympic distance then I will probably do other sprints and Olympics - my goal is to improve my time significantly! I certainly don't place in my age group yet but am always improving!

Career-- I'm an Elementary teacher (currently subbing) as well as a group fitness instructor and personal trainer. I enjoy soaking up info and sharing it with others so I look forward to answering your questions and encouraging you through your journey to your triathlons this year. I can remember my heart racing in excitement starting my first sprint and the tears in my eyes at the end when I completed it. I hope all of you have a great season and can work through the ups and downs of life to keep training!

Heather

Edited by mararunner 2008-01-13 11:10 PM

2008-01-10 10:59 AM
in reply to: #1140785

User image

Extreme Veteran
Glasgow, UK
Subject: RE: Canadian athlete- open
Can I join?