General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Sprint tri during training - taper, recovery ??? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-03-27 4:21 PM

Regular
Subject: Sprint tri during training - taper, recovery ???
Hi all! I am new at this and training for my first Olympic distance triathlon in July. I am using the couch to Oly training program. Now I have talked myself into entering two sprint triathlons before the Oly. The first in May and the second a month later in June. I'm not too worried about being ready (I think I am ready for the first now and am telling myself I will be ready for the second when it comes. The question is, when do I taper or do I even taper for the first. It will be a .5 mile swim, 12 mile bike and 3 mile run. I will be at the end of my last week of building for the month (5h 39m bike, 2h 48m run, 2h 48m swim for the week) Then should I give myself a day off or just count the race day as training and move to my next week (recovery). The second race (.75m swim, 18m bike, 4.5m run) falls right at the end of my recovery week but is on my rest day. Should I switch some days around? I have 2 weeks extra to train when my plan finishes before the Oly so I thought I'd just keep building and then taper before the final race of my first season.

I just want to make sure my body is ready so I don't start out tired. I'm not looking to win, just have fun, finish, learn how to pace myself, get through the transitions and get mistakes out of my way, and have my 4 kids and DH cheering me all the way

2008-03-27 4:29 PM
in reply to: #1298305

User image

Sensei
Sin City
Subject: RE: Sprint tri during training - taper, recovery ???