BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Shepherd's mentor group - Full up! Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 6

2008-04-22 11:23 AM

User image

Expert
West Metro Atlanta, GA
Subject: Shepherd's mentor group - Full up!

NAME: Shepherd AKA Kate
STORY: I started training for triathlon in spring 2006 for an August race. I'm still not 100% sure what motivated me to do it, except that I needed a challenge. The swim went good, the bike leg sucked (hills plus a bike that didn't fit me plus not training enough), and I walked the run. I finished that race and became a triathlete at about 40% body fat. I was hooked. I guess I got into it to prove that I could do something that challenging, and then stayed because I liked the challenge.
FAMILY STATUS: Married to a very understanding non-athlete.
CURRENT TRAINING: I'm focusing on sprints this year again. I really want to get more in-shape before moving up in distance. I'm down to a little less than 30% body fat with an eventual goal of about 23%. I have two women's races on the schedule and hopefully will be doing a half-marathon in the fall.
THIS YEAR'S RACES: My last major race was June of 2007, I did not finish due to knee trouble and crashing on the bike. It really was a hard blow to my ego.
2008 RACES:

Aflac Irongirl, June
Acworth Women's Tri, August
Silver Comet Half-Mary, October

WEIGHTLOSS: I started at 260, now I'm at 250. More importantly though, I started with about 48% bodyfat and now am about 29%! Still working on losing more fat though.

WHAT WILL MAKE ME A GOOD MENTOR: I care about you! We all were in your shoes at one point, looking towards that first race with a mix of fear and excitement. I want to help you shift closer to the excitement side of things and enjoy your race. If you're looking for someone to remind you of your goals, to answer your questions, and to help encourage you, look no further and join my group!

Edited by shepherd 2008-04-27 10:00 AM

2008-04-23 5:08 PM