BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Gat's Mentor Group - Closed Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 18

2008-04-29 2:22 PM

Extreme Veteran
Vermont
Subject: Gat's Mentor Group - Closed

Background

I am still relatively new to tri's starting just 4 years ago. It is truly addicting. I am a former football/basketball player with no background in biking, running or swimming. I started out like many probably do with a local sprint. I am a BOP’r but improving.  I started out just looking for a way to improve my fitness level.  I was spending too much time at work and on the couch.  This needed to change. 

My 1st Tri

Thinking I was in pretty good shape, I decided I would do a local sprint tri. I was hoping to get in a good workout, and after all, I had done a few laps in the pool earlier in the week. I had not swam in years and was never a real swimmer. I just about died (figuratively) after finishing the .5 mile swim. The swim was the hardest thing I had done in a very long time. I was pretty close to being the last out of the water. I was exhausted when I arrived at my....15 year old mountain bike. I hit the course a bit waterlogged and lightheaded. The good news is that I was not being passed much. The bad news was that it was a tough 12 miles, and I was close to last. Upon finishing the bike, I took off on noodle legs and finished the race truly exhausted. It was not a great experience. I was doing it for fun, for exercise and to see what it was like. I was underprepared, made several mistakes, was truly humbled.  However, I was hooked.  I learned a lot that day.

I share the story above for two reasons. This is what got me started, and if I can do it, so can anybody else.  

Family Status