General Discussion Triathlon Talk » How much time difference does aero really make? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-02-16 8:20 AM

User image

Regular
Subject: How much time difference does aero really make?
Thanks to everyone for the advice last week. I will focus on comfort and familiarity and do my HIM on my road bike without clip on aero bars and wait until I get a tri bike for the aero thing. My question is . . . assuming a rider uses the same amount of power during the bike, how much time difference would there really be in aero v. road position in a HIM? I know that this is more of a theoretical question and that there are tons of variables, but can anyone make a guestimate? Thanks.

2009-02-16 8:40 AM
in reply to: #1964097

User image

Expert
Durham, North Carolina
Subject: RE: How much time difference does aero really make?

I'm still new at this myself, but Iwould think that once you start talking about 15+ mile and longer rides that the time savings would really start to add up.

I think I've read that that single biggest factor in slowing people up on the bike (or ways to increase speed) is to reduce air drag.

The body's resistance to the wind or air flow is the single biggest thing that slows you down, so the more you can get into and the longer you can stay in an aero position ... I would say would add significant time savings.

2009-02-16 8:57 AM
in reply to: #1964135

User image

Cycling Guru
Fulton, MD

Depends on you, your position and the overall coefficient of drag that the complete package (you and bike) make.  The lower the CD, the better you will go through the wind.

I just tried to find the real world testing that Cyclingnews did with a road bike, TT bike and adding parts to quantify the benefits, but I can't find it ... grrrrrrr.  Need to bookmark it when I do!