Bryan Texas Utilities
34F / 1C
Sunny
Total Time = 1h 23m 10s
Overall Rank = 6/120
Age Group = M50-59
Age Group Rank = 1/10
Pre-race routine:

Slept well, woke at 0500 to make the 60 mile drive to the race site north of Bryan/College Station. Ate my standard race breakfast protein bar, Clif bar, & Power Edge drink while driving.

The race takes place at a lake built for a utility power plant out in the country. In the past years this has been a triathlon and it was my first ever back in 2006. This year they changed the race to a duathlon to do something different, so I signed up anyway. I've never done a du before.

Got there well before sunrise and it was going to be a beautiful day. It was very dark out there and I walked around looking at the stars, easily seeing the Milky Way and the Little Dipper.

It was 34° and I had heavy warm-ups on over my race clothes. Deciding what to wear during the race was going to be a bit of a challenge. It was going to start out cold and get warmer as the morning went on. To keep the transition times fast, I couldn't do any clothes changing.

I went with tri shorts and tights, a tech t-shirt under a bike jersey that could be zipped up & down, arm warmers and light gloves. Socks and toe warmers on the bike shoes would complete the kit.

The plan was to run with the jersey unzipped, bike with it zipped closed, unzip it and pull off the arm warmers and gloves during the 2nd run. Perfect.
Event warmup:

Got my packet and chip, TA set up and ready to go. Really easy when all you have is a helmet and running shoes. I put my race number belt on underneath the bike jersey and I'd pull it out during the 2nd run.

With everyone covered up there was no body marking today, so ages were a mystery. Looked around for the old guys to see who my competition might be.

Ran a quarter mile down the run course and back to get the heart rate up and fully warm, but not sweating. Stretched out the legs in the carpeted TA.
Run
  • 21m 32s
  • 3.11 miles