Blue Sky (sometimes) Sports
75F / 24C
Overcast
Total Time = 1h 27m 1s
Overall Rank = 144/222
Age Group = 50-54
Age Group Rank = 5/7
Pre-race routine:

The race was about a 3 hour drive away so I got up at 3:00 and left the house at 3:45. I got to the site at about 6:30. I ate just 2 double packs of fig newtons and some milk. Just before I got to the venue I got some coffee at McDonalds.
Event warmup:

After picking up my packet and getting my transition laid out I did something I've never done before which was a warm up run. I only did about a quarter mile but this was a first for me. I ran without socks because I planned to go sockless for the race and wanted to feel it one more time before committing to the strategy. I also did a short swim just before the start.
Swim
  • 13m 57s
  • 600 meters
  • 02m 20s / 100 meters
Comments:

I was in the second wave consisting of 40+ males. I had a good swim. I kept right on course and after some minor tangles at the start was able to find clear water most of the way. One guy near me was going about the same speed and occasionally was swerving into me, but I ditched him at the final buoy. Also at near the final buoy some of the women, about 3 or 4, passed me. The waves were 3 minutes apart.
What would you do differently?:

I enjoyed the swim and was a little out of breath running up the hill to transition but I think I wouldn't change anything. I did a lot of training for the swim. One thing I am interested in is finding out how much the Xcel wetsuit helps me on the swim time. If I do an experiment and find the difference is small or none, it will go. I can swim in cold water without it.
Transition 1
  • 01m 13s
Comments: