BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Ersmith29's Group - CLOSED Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 6

2009-12-22 9:34 AM

Veteran
Subject: Ersmith29's Group - CLOSED

NAME: Ersmith29/Emily

STORY:  I have been competing in tris since 1997.  I started out with the Danskin because I read about it and it sounded interesting.  I had NO athletic background and if you met me, you'd probably be very surprised to find out I tri, just not the normal stereotype superfit triathlete.  After the Danskin, I was hooked immediately and signed up for a half, then my first full irondistance in 1999, with no clue what I was doing.  Over the years I've figured it out, at least a little more and am still at it & still love triathlon.  I work full time, teach spinning, and have two young kids so I know well the challenges of trying to squeeze it all in, but for me it's worth it.

FAMILY STATUS: Married with 2 young kids

CURRENT TRAINING: Training to race several half marathons and 1-2 him's in 2010. 

THIS YEAR'S RACES: 2009 Escape from Alcatraz, 5430 Series (Sprint, Oly & HIM), 2009 IM Wisconsin (14:59:50)

2010 RACES:
  2010 5430 Series, including Ironman Boulder 70.3, Denver Rock & Roll Marathon

WEIGHTLOSS:
  After recently having two kids, looking to get back to my racing weight and regain my 'mojo'   I've got about 30 lbs to lose.

WHAT WILL MAKE ME A GOOD MENTOR:  I really enjoy helping others get involved in our great sport.  I teach spinning, which I love because I love the interations with my spinning folks. Over the years, I've seen many of them grow in their fitness & take on challenges such as century rides, marathons, and triathlons.  I'd like to think that some of this inspiration comes from my coaching.