United States
80'sF / 0C
Overcast
Total Time = 1h 40m 59s
Overall Rank = 736/1672
Age Group = 35-39
Age Group Rank = 170/359
Pre-race routine:

Had some Cheerios and fruit juice for breakfast at 5am. Got dressed and left from my dad's house about 7 minutes away.
Event warmup:

biking a mile and a half after forgetting my timing chip at my dad's house. I realized it just as I was getting to the transition area to set up. Bummer. Flew back to the car, threw my bike on the rack and raced to my dad's. Got my chip and Bodyglide and made it back to the transition area by 6:15am. Found a good spot on the end of a rack and set up. Jumped in the water for about a minute just to feel the temp. nice! about 82 degrees.
Swim
  • 14m 38s
  • 800 yards
  • 01m 50s / 100 yards
Comments:

Went out waaayyy too fast. Did not stick to my plan of pacing myself. Funny, I've never done that before, must've had a lot of adrenaline flowing. Anyway, was gasping for air after the first 200 meters. could not establish a rhythm the rest of the way.
What would you do differently?:

I will NOT go out so hard and stray from my race plan. Keep a steady pace and count to myself.
Transition 1
  • 04m 17s
Comments:

Was still pretty breathless after the swim so I walked/jogged to T1, while trying to regulate my breathing. Felt pretty good by the time I reached my bike.
Dropped my goggles/cap, put on my BT singlet, helmet and sunglasses. Grabbed my bike and was off. Shoes already clipped to pedals. Worked pretty well, did the rubber band trick.

Practice my T1 transition a little more before the race. I was a little wobbly on my bike while trying to put my feet in my shoes. Practice, practice, practice.
Bike
  • 47m 12s
  • 12.5 miles
  • 15.89 mile/hr
Comments:

Overall I did pretty well on the bike. Didn't really push it very hard. I shifted well, but need work on the uphills.