General Discussion Race Reports! » American Brain Tumor Path to Progress Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

American Brain Tumor Path to Progress - Run5k

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Chicago, Illinois
United States
CARA/USATA
59F / 15C
Overcast
Total Time = 21m 52s
Overall Rank = 49/1386
Age Group = F40-44
Age Group Rank = 2/45
Pre-race routine:

Woke up before the alarm clock. Packed the kids bags. Packed my bags. Fed them b-fast. Ate my bagel/peanut butter/coffee. Drove kids to babysitter, then drove to race.
Event warmup:

Wasn't freezing, but cold enough that if you stopped moving, you got cold. Race started 10 minutes late, so we got kind of cold waiting. I am NOT good at warming up for this kind of stuff. Hmm, need to establish a better routine.
Run
  • 21m 52s
  • 3.11 miles
  • 07m 02s  min/mile
Comments:

Decided to try the suggestion of going all out first mile and then trying to maintain. I think it might have worked. I PR'ed by over a minute. Felt really awful around .75 miles, saw my mile split (6:40) and settled down into a less ludicrous pace (7:14, 7:16).
What would you do differently?:

Get my speedwork up to 3 miles (it's around 2 right now). Vary my runs with some tempo?!? The race strategy itself seemed to work. I didn't die from going out super fast at the beginning. I guess the internets were right. The theory is that most middle-experienced (vs elite or beginner) runners go out too slow in a 5k and you can't make up ground lost in such a short race. Kind of makes sense.
Post race
Warm down:

Watched and cheered for a while. Saw Blackledge (Ryan) and Mrs. Blackledge (Laura) cross the line. Went with them and Thndrcloud (Alison) to a cool neighborhood breakfast joint where they have burritos the size of your HEAD!!! It was fun to meet my online friends from BT and geek out about triathlons in person for a while. We MAY have a scheme to meet for a late season tri, and maybe some other stuff before then...