Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2010-08-19 9:44 AM
in reply to: #3050435

User image

Veteran
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Subject: RE: Chicago..Help!
I got stuck in that situation enough times that I actually created a permanent "Plan B"... here it is:

I tell strangers I am a blogger or journalist (cause if it is good it could sell and then I would actually be a journalist- right?!)  I tell everyone I sit next to (plane, hotel staff, taxi driver, other shoppers, random people at the bar- I always eat at the bar!)  I am freelancing for the weekend and can I ask them some suggestions they'd have for women traveling alone, or whatever topic I make up that I am blogging about. 
This gave me a valid reason to talk to total strangers and not seem creepy, plus people like to talk about themselves so it's easy for them too. And it gave me a sort of "mask" to hide behind that made me more comfortable being out there alone.  Fake it till you make it, right?!  I actually even wore fake glasses once!

2010-08-19 9:49 AM
in reply to: #3052308

User image

Champion
Chicago
gonnafinish plscheer - 2010-08-19 9:44 AM

I got stuck in that situation enough times that I actually created a permanent "Plan B"... here it is:

I tell strangers I am a blogger or journalist (cause if it is good it could sell and then I would actually be a journalist- right?!)  I tell everyone I sit next to (plane, hotel staff, taxi driver, other shoppers, random people at the bar- I always eat at the bar!)  I am freelancing for the weekend and can I ask them some suggestions they'd have for women traveling alone, or whatever topic I make up that I am blogging about.