OnUrLeft
80F / 27C
Sunny
Total Time = 2h 27m 21s
Overall Rank = /
Age Group = M50-59
Age Group Rank = 4/12
Pre-race routine:

This duathlon was part of a bigger Olympic distance triathlon, and since I hadn't swam any in the last 10 months, it was going to be the du for me. (My whole focus this year has been away from triathlon anyway.)

Woke at 4:45, ate and drank the usual stuff I've been doing for the last 3 years while driving to the site. Why change now?

Laid out my TA: 1 bike, 1 helmet, 1 pair of bike shoes. It didn't take very long.

My number belt is tucked into my shorts so it wouldn't flap while on the bike.

We were racked by race numbers, so there was no choice on the spot; it was on the very last, back row and a long run to the bike mount line.

Went to the portacan. Twice.
Event warmup:

I guess I should've run some, but didn't. Stretched a little, walked around.

I hadn't trained hard the last few months, just the bare basics, but I did set some modest race goals.

2 miles = 14:00
T1 = 1:00
25 miles = 1:15:00
T2 = 1:00
6.2 miles = 48:00
Total = 2:19:00

I knew if I hit this, I'd have a good chance at a podium spot. It was something to gun for.
Run
  • 13m 32s
  • 2 miles
  • 06m 46s  min/mile
Comments:

It was a mass start for all the du folks; men, women, old & young. Got up front, but let the fasties take the start line.

Went out fast and got into my race breathing and striding rhythm pretty quickly. Paced myself knowing I still had a few miles to go.

Goal was 14:00 (- :28)
What would you do differently?:

Nothing, just the right pace.
Transition 1
  • 01m 43s
Comments:

It was a long run to the line in bike shoes, but I was 2nd in AG, and only missing 1st by 1 second.

Nothing. I have this down to a science.

The time goal of 1:00 was just a guess because I had no idea of the site layout.

Goal was 1:00 (+ :43)
Bike
  • 1h 16m 37s
  • 24.9 miles
  • 19.50 mile/hr
Comments:

Mounted cleanly and was off.