BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Mav's mentor group - CLOSED Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 31

2010-12-26 8:04 AM

Uxbridge
Subject: Mav's mentor group - CLOSED

Name: Mav/ Marianne

Story: This will be my fifth season of triathlon. I am 52 years old.I work part time as a labor and delivery nurse. Four years ago I decided to stop taking my health for granted and quit smoking ( Smoked for 30 years) I started running and actually liked it. Before long, I injured my leg and began biking and swimming as part of my rehab.  A lifeguard at the pool suggested I try a triathlon. I did a sprint and was hooked.Since then I have completed multiple sprints and olys, a few HIM's and this past year I did my first IM. I love this sport.

Family Status: Married with 2 grown children

Current Training: Currently off season training. I plan on doing some strength training this off season before the race season begins again.

This years races: I plan to race 3 HIM's. Not sure what ones I plan to race yet. There are a couple of 2 mile swim races I plan to do and possibly a 5 K swim race. No full IM this year, but I will do another in 2012.

2010 races: I did a few sprints, a HIM aquanbike and a 2 mile swim race.. Most of my year was spent training in preparation for IMAZ. IMAZ was my first full IM race. I loved it!!!

Weight Loss: I have lost 20 pounds since I started triathlons. I would love to loose 10 more ...a girl can dream!!!!

What Will Make Me a Good Mentor:  When I joined BT 3 years ago I joined a mentor group and it helped me a great deal. I am not a coach, but I have enough experience that I can give some pretty solid advice to those who want to join the sport. I check in daily with BT and would love to help others who are new to the sport, or  even more seasoned people who are looking to go longer distances. I have learned so much from BT that being a mentor is my opportunity to give back!!!!

Edited by mav 2011-01-09 10:40 PM

2011-01-05 7:46 PM