General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Newb questions Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-01-11 9:12 AM

User image

Veteran
Subject: Newb questions
I'm planning to do my first tri this summer (Muncie 70.3) unless I can find a sprint to get in on before that; I'm not trying to win or compete since it's my first one; Just wanna finish, so I can brag to my friends.

I've been running for a few years, so that's definitely my strong suit, and I have a couple questions about swim and bike that I was hoping for some insight on:

Swimming: On a percentage basis, how much harder is an open water swim compared to swimming laps in a pool? I know from reading the threads that there is a lot more challenges in a open water tri swim compared to swimming laps by yourself in a pool. Just curious how much harder folks would estimate that it is. (BTW, my race is in a reservoir/lake area, so I'm not expecting to be battling any current, and hopefully not much choppy waves)

Cycling: Okay, my general impression is that cycling in a race would be easier than your normal road training rides. Reason being, every time I have been out on the road in the past, I am having to put a lot of attention towards car traffic (making sure I am safe/stopping at stop lights/etc.) I feel like this has put a damper in my average speed. So, I am imagining in a race where the car traffic is blocked, and I could focus on the race and maintaining cadence and speed, I would probably have slightly better results speedwise. What is everyone's thoughts on this?

Thanks in advance! I have already learned so much just by browsing the forums. You guys are really into the fun of the sport, but also the science of it!

2011-01-11 9:36 AM
in reply to: #3292126

Subject: RE: Newb questions
Not trying to be a jerk, but may I ask why you are starting with such a long race as your first triathlon?

2011-01-11 9:54 AM

User image

Elite