Firm Racing
72F / 22C
Overcast
Total Time = 1h 14m 30s
Overall Rank = 6/145
Age Group = 30-24
Age Group Rank = 1/14
Pre-race routine:

Todays Race, DKH Sprint Tri, was it's first year having the event. Hurricane Irene is on it's way. The original date was scheduled for tomorrow 8/28, but thankfully, FIRM Racing did a great job getting it switched to today to avoid the bad weather. I was happy about that as this was a hometown event, and my "A" race this year for that fact alone. I am sure I would have picked a bigger race to be my "A" race, but this is my first year in Tri. Woke up at 5:00 am. Everything was already loaded. Powerbar Energy, Banana and glass of water, and off to the event.
Event warmup:

Registered, set up tranistion, and chatted with plenty of people I knew. This was a grassy transition area, so it was slightly damp, but nothing to worry about. One rack over, a guy actually brought a 4' x 8' blanket, laid it out under the rack, and placed his bike and everything else on top of it. I hope someone said something to him. It took up about 2 spaces on each side of him. Ran 1 mile on the run course, got the body glide and wetsuit on after that, and hopped in the water for about 300 yards, really trying to focus on my breathing.
Swim
  • 12m 44s
  • 700 meters
  • 01m 49s / 100 meters
Comments:

I started at the front this time, not wanting to get stuck in the middle and pushed around like Niantic Bay. This obviously was a much smaller event, so I really wanted to take off and get ahead of the MOP. That actually worked well, because I only got pushed once. Again, smaller race which helps. I was surprised to see I was actually 8th out of the water. My swim time is not all that fast, but I was still happy to be ahead a bit.
What would you do differently?:

Just more swim time. I have not spent nearly enough on it. Winter plans include that.
Transition 1
  • 01m 31s
Comments: