General Discussion Race Reports! » Miami University Student Foundation Triathlon Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

Miami University Student Foundation Triathlon - TriathlonSprint

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Oxford, Ohio
United States
USAT
41F / 5C
Overcast
Total Time = 1h 15m 1s
Overall Rank = 25/253
Age Group = 25-29
Age Group Rank = 5/?
Pre-race routine:

The main reason I signed up for this race is because it was at my college which I haven't really been back to since I graduated like 5 years ago. I figured it was time to go back and visit Miami and see some old friends. My pre-race routine involved going out drinking on Friday night and somehow waking up before the alarm clock, grabbing my bike and riding over to the Rec to set up transition.
Event warmup:

Warmup is laughable because it was FREEZING out. I was completely under dressed and unprepared for this race. No hat or gloves, tri shorts and a long sleeve underarmor shirt are all I had. It was COLD COLD COLD. I swam like 100m before the race for the sole purpose that I wanted to see if my tri shorts would fall off when I flipped my turns! I've never worn them in a pool and always with a wetsuit on over them, so I wanted to make sure the crowd in the balcony wouldn't get a surprise view when I push off the walls.
Swim
  • 07m 10s
  • 437 yards
  • 01m 38s / 100 yards
Comments:

The swim was about 30-40 seconds slower than what I would have liked. I had trouble passing because the lanes were so clogged up with other swimmers who went before me but were slower. I passed quite a few people in the swim and nobody passed me.
What would you do differently?:

I would start sooner. I underestimated my start time which was what they used to seed us. When I saw a guy dog paddling in the "under 6 minute" group I knew I'd be in trouble.
Transition 1
  • 00m
Comments: