General Discussion Triathlon Talk » So, should I keep my road bike?? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-12-05 9:10 PM

User image

Regular
Kansas City Area
Subject: So, should I keep my road bike??

Hi, I have a question for all of you experienced tri folks out there.  I am new to triathlon but pretty experienced in running and have been cross-training with cycling a fair amount.  Anyway, I have a decent road bike (Specialized Allez Elite - aluminum frame with 105 groupset and Profile Design clip-on aero bars) and do enjoy riding it.  My question is this: I really think I'd like to have a tri bike but am wondering if I should keep my road bike?  I expect to do several sprint tri's this year and likely a HIM.  I would like to dull full IM in next couple of years and see HIM as something I will end up doing regularly as I currently do several full marathons per year now.  I guess, technically, there are several options:

1) Keep my road bike and just use it as is. 

2) Keep my road bike but maybe "trick it out" a little for tri's like maybe having a nicer wheelset (it has stock Mavics on it now)

3) Buy nice tri bike and keep road bike for training rides (seems wasteful to have 2 bikes??)

4) Buy nice tri bike and sell road bike.  Do people get tired of riding their tri bike for ALL rides and wish they still had their "old" road bike?

Sorry for the lengthy question but from reading the forums here many of you have really good advice and experience to lend.  Thanks in advance!

2011-12-05 10:27 PM
in reply to: #3927520

User image

Master
Cypress, CA
Subject: RE: So, should I keep my road bike??
Somebody doesn't understand the n+1 rule... 
2011-12-05 10:55 PM

User image

Expert
Salem
ssmith2 - 2011-12-05 7:10 PM