General Discussion Triathlon Talk » lower volume vs. higher volume training plans Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
lower volume vs. higher volume training plans
OptionResults
lower volume plan and get 'er done3 Votes - [15.79%]
higher volume plan, shorten if needed16 Votes - [84.21%]

2012-01-15 12:50 PM

User image

Master
Bellevue, WA
Subject: lower volume vs. higher volume training plans

I'm thinking about which sort of training plan to use for my A race this year which is IMC on August 26, 2012, and I have a key question I thought I'd through out for everyone's input.

I have a supportive spouse and family, only one child still living at home and she's 17, and triathlon is my one hobby. But my job has intermittent difficult to plan for periods of high workload that cut into my workouts. I work in the software field and we have deadlines to make, schedules to keep, things to get done. So while my usual workweek is 45-50 hours, it can go way up at times and is erratic.  Sometimes I have to start work early (6am instead of my usual 9 or so), and miss my morning workout. Or I have to work Saturday and don't have time for a six hour ride, so I swap the Sunday run to Saturday and ride on Sunday. Then Sunday I still have work to do, so the six hour ride gets shortened to three hours.

When I look at the higher volume training plans like the Fink Competitive plan vs. lower volume like Fink Intermediate, I would expect in real life that I would be able to complete more of the Intermediate workouts as written.  I expect I would cut short or miss more of the Competitive workouts. Sometimes I could make up the workout later, and other times I would just skip it.

So, what would BT do? Pick a lower volume plan and get most or all of it done, or pick a higher volume plan and risk cutting short more of the workouts?

2012-01-15 1:11 PM
in reply to: #3991377

User image

Expert
Tyrone, Georgia
Subject: RE: lower volume vs. higher volume training plans